To Post or not to Post high res images – watermarking? What does everyone think?

I recently had an interesting comment on an image, someone suggested that I should post larger/higher res versions of my photos. This brings up a very interesting question for me – is it a good idea to post full high res copies of my images? Should they be watermarked? Or should I stick with smaller low res images?

Now, I am far from a well known or accomplished photographer. But all the same, I don’t like the thought of people downloading high res copies of my images and using them however they wish. I am currently getting some images together to submit to Shutterstock, with hopes of being accepted there.

How do some of you other photographers and image makers feel about this issue?

3 thoughts on “To Post or not to Post high res images – watermarking? What does everyone think?

  1. robertdevito Post author

    Thanks Bob – I appreciate you taking time to stop by and comment. I have been thinking of using a watermark, but I hate the way they look. But I do want to protect my images in some way….

    Like

    Reply
    1. bobh47955

      Make your watermark then when you add it to your print make it lighter but visible enough that it would be a bear to try to remove.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

